WK 6 – Emotions – (short story inspired by Carmina Correa & Vanessa Olivarez’s “Memes 4 Lyfe”)

Artwork Information:

Memes 4 Lyfe
Carmina Correa & Vanessa Olivarez
Print on acetate
44” x 56”
2017
CSULB, Marilyn Werby Galley
Memes 4 Lyfe

 

This piece caught my attention due to many emotions in one piece of artwork. It reminded me of many experiences that both caused happiness and sadness to my life.  In particularly was the time I went home back home to the Philippines after several years living in the US.

The story begins as I travel back home with full excitement and anxiety.  I was thrilled to see my old friends and family members that I haven’t seen in a while, yet I was anxious about the changes that could’ve happened while I wasn’t there.  When I first stepped out of the airport, I felt agitated and annoyed because of the humid and hot weather that I never missed, yet still made me smile due to the sense of comfort it gave me. Furthermore, when I met up with my family, I felt somewhat frustrated and upset because many of my younger cousins, nieces, and nephews did not remember me at all. The only time that they talked to me was when I gave them candies, which I thought was really funny.  Moreover, although I haven’t seen my friends in a long time, they gave me a warm welcome even though some of them barely recognized me and quite frankly some I also barely recognized. My trip to the Philippines made me feel so many different kinds of emotions.  Emotions that were so colorful that made my trip so special and one of a kind.

 

 

Leave a Reply

