Wk 4 – Art Experience – Art Care Package

My art package consisted of an iPad with a news report of Trump, a page from my Anatomy lab manual, a skeleton homework and my top ten list of things I want to do before I die. In my actual mail, I only sent out a copy of the news report, my anatomy work and my top ten list.  I chose to send this package in to my grandfather in the Philippines.  I think this activity is similar to sending a snapchat to someone because the content that will be given is at the spurt of the highlight of your day.  For instance, my anatomy packet is something I’m working on and studying this weekend.The news article displays the biggest news at the moment.   However it is different because creating the package and actually mailing it is harder and requires more work whereas snapchat only requires a phone and internet. Another difference is time that it takes for one content to send over to someone.  Obviously snapchat takes a shorter time to send over. However, the easier it is to send something, the more likely people will send content that are not important, devaluing the importance and the connection snapchat creates. On the other hand, the art care package does take a long time, but it requires work that displays my effort and care to the person I’m sending it too. It is more personal and intimate.
I think ephemera is only precious for the time being. When I look at my package, my anatomy lab manual is very important to me since it’s necessary for my class. However, after this semester I would probably just put it aside and dust.  In other words, it does lose value after a time, however its impact in my life will still be with me until the rest of my college years.  For example. how well I do my lab manual determines my advancement in my course and college career.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Leave a Reply

